We’ve all been there at least once. Or twice. You hit send on an email and your heart immediately sinks after you realize you hit “reply-all” by mistake or even worst, you accidentally sent that email to your boss instead of your best friend.
Well, now you can easily say goodbye to your worst nightmare. Gmail has officially added a feature called Undo Send, which will delay sending an email for up to 30 seconds. The feature was only available to enthusiastic beta testers at the Gmail Labs; but the once experimental feature has been available to the masses since early this year.
The feature is really quite simple; it basically configures a delay on your Send button. Instead of firing off your emails when you click Send, it holds them for however long you configure, and then sends them. This way, if you realize you sent something you didn’t mean to, you can recall it.
With just a minor tweak in your Settings menu you can buy yourself some much needed “I forgot the attachment!” wiggle room wherein you can undo a sent email, slap the attachment on (and fix that typo while you’re at it) and send it back out.